54 F
Redwood City
Thursday, April 25, 2024

San Mateo County residents may qualify for federal disaster assistance

San Mateo County residents may qualify for federal disaster assistance
Photo: P360P

Residents of San Mateo County will now be able to qualify for federal disaster assistance, after the area was included in the Major Disaster Declaration for the State of California after being affected by the storms registered since last December 27, 2022 .

This was announced by representatives Anna Eshoo, D-Menlo Park, and Kevin Mullin, D-San Mateo, who pointed out that disaster relief from the Federal Emergency Management Agency ?FEMA, for its acronym in English? will help residents and business owners facing losses from the storms.

In light of this, they encouraged homeowners and renters who suffered damage or loss as a direct result of the storms to apply for FEMA assistance before the March 16, 2023 deadline.

Disaster assistance may include grants to help pay for temporary housing and essential home repairs, as well as other serious disaster-related needs, such as medical and dental expenses, transportation, child care, and moving and storage expenses.

“This will go a long way to the individuals and business owners who suffered losses during the severe storms that dumped 13 inches of rain on the county in December and January,” Mullin said. "My colleague Anna Eshoo and I will do everything we can to help our constituents as they recover and rebuild."

Notably, Eshoo and Mullin wrote to President Joe Biden on January 23 to request an amendment to include San Mateo County in the Major Disaster Declaration issued for California.

San Mateo County residents can now access individual assistance from FEMA by phone at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov to cover their basic needs.

The declaration allows FEMA to provide direct support to individuals and households in nine counties: Calaveras, Merced, Monterey, Sacramento, San Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, San Mateo, Santa Barbara, and Santa Cruz.

Officials detailed that if you have insurance, you must first file a claim with your insurance provider. FEMA provides assistance to uninsured and underinsured applicants for their serious needs and expenses caused by the disaster.

There are several ways to apply for FEMA assistance under the Individual Assistance program:

  • Visit DisasterAssistance.gov
  • Download the FEMA mobile app
  • Call the FEMA Helpline at 800-621-3362. Help is available in many languages. If you use Video Relay Service (VRS), captioned telephone service, or others, provide FEMA with the number for that service. Helpline operators speak many languages and the lines are open from 7:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m. every day. Press 2 for Spanish. Press 3 for an interpreter who speaks your language.
  • To view an accessible video on how to apply, go to https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LU7wzRjByhI 
  • You can also visit a Disaster Recovery Center and meet with FEMA staff and representatives from other federal and state agencies who can provide you with information on disaster assistance. To find a recovery center near you, visit the DRC Locator (fema.gov).

You may be interested in: Victims and witnesses of shootings in Monterey Park and Half Moon Bay could obtain compensation

Peninsula 360 Press
Peninsula 360 Presshttps://peninsula360press.com
Study of cross-cultural digital communication


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay connected


Latest articles